Māori Rugby Structure

The page outlines the hierarchy within which Māori rugby operates.

  • NZR Māori board
  • The three regional boards
  • Provincial Unions and Māori committees​​​​​​​

At the national level, there is a New Zealand Māori Rugby Board made up of the following.

  • NZR Māori representative.
  • Two members from Te Hiku O Te Ika (northern).
  • Two members from Tini A Maui (central).
  • Two members from Te Waipounamu (southern).
  • Two independent directors also sit on the Board.


Regional (Northern, Central, and Southern)
At regional level, there are regional Māori Rugby Boards that provide strategic direction on the annual regional Māori rugby tournaments and facilitate Māori rugby development in each region.

At Provincial level, Māori Rugby is typically administered by a Māori rugby committee that operates alongside their local Provincial Union to develop Māori rugby within in each province.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


Māori rugby committees are made up of passionate Māori rugby people who help to support the game within their regions.